The Long Stories

“I even embodied it in a small brochure”

The four long stories (aka the novels or novellas) in the Sherlock Holmes Canon are shown below, in order of their original publication sequence in the UK.  Just click on the story title of your choice and you will be able to read it in full, accompanied by many of the original illustrations. The text used is the same edition as The Penguin Complete Sherlock Holmes (also published under their Viking imprint) in the UK and by Doubleday in the USA. We are grateful to Camden House for providing this resource ( > Links / Main Deck for website).

A Study in Scarlet

The Sign of Four

The Hound of the Baskervilles

The Valley of Fear